Images courtesy of Marcel van der Brug/Mies van der Rohe Award

Winner of 2017 EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture announced

15 May 2017 | By GCR Staff 2 Comments

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe have announced the winner of the 2017 EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture, otherwise known as the Mies van der Rohe Award.

A 500-apartment, 400-metre-long renovation project in Amsterdam called deFlat Kleiburg won the prize, it was designed by NL Architects and XVW Arhcitectuur.

The team are described by the competition jury as having rescued the building from the wrecking ball by turning it into a "Klusflat", meaning that the inhabitants renovate their apartments by themselves.

The winners were chosen from a shortlist of five announced in February.

NL architects were awarded the Emerging Architect Prize of the EU Mies Award in 2005 for their work BasketBar in Utrecht.

The 2017 Emerging Architect Prize has been awarded to Brussels studio MSA/V+ for the NAVEZ–5 social units, a housing project that aimed to “represent the urban revalidation scheme with a landmark at the entrance of the city and to provide exemplary apartments for large families”.

The project was commissioned by the City of Schaerbeek.

Images courtesy of Marcel van der Brug/Mies van der Rohe Award