Adjaye Associates, BIG and others chosen for Adelaide art museum and sculpture park

Six teams have been shortlisted for a commission to build a contemporary art gallery and sculpture park in the southern Australian city of Adelaide.

The six finalists for the Contemporary International Design Competition are:

Adelaide Botanic Garden

  • Adjaye Associates and BVN with Steensen Varming, McGregor Coxall, Barbara Flynn and Yvonne Koolmatrie     
  • Bjarke Ingels Group and JPE Design Studio with United Natures, Arketype and BuildSurv   
  • David Chipperfield Architects and SJB Architects with Jane Irwin Landscape Architecture and Arup   
  • Diller Scofidio + Renfro and Woods Bagot with Oculus, Pentagram, Katnich Dodd, Rider Levett Bucknall, Arup, WSP, Deloitte, Kaldor Public Art Projects, Klynton Wanganeen, James Sanders, Dustin Yellin, Right Angle Studio and Garry Stewart
  • Hassell and Solid Objectives with Fabio Ongarato Design, Mosbach Paysagistes and Fiona Hall
  • Khai Liew, Office of Ryue Nishizawa and Durbach Block Jaggers with Masako Yamazaki, Mark Richardson, Arup and Irma Boom.

The finalists have 11 weeks to develop their concept designs before submitting them to Malcolm Reading Consultants, the competition’s organiser.

Each team will receive US$73,000 for their competition work, including concept designs, which will be on display to the public and stakeholders in an exhibition to be held in Adelaide in April, and also online.

Nick Mitzevich, director of the Art Gallery of South Australia, said: "We are fortunate to hold a peerless collection of international and Australian art, much of which has never gone on public display. Adelaide Contemporary is unprecedented in its ambition to provide a new home for Australian art as well as a new place within the city.  

"Adelaide Contemporary will curate the State’s exceptional collection of Aboriginal art and present Indigenous Australian art and culture alongside work by Asian and European artists, enabling local, national and international visitors to look at Australian art in a global context."

The project is part of a larger regeneration development by the South Australian Government.

A competition winner will be announced in May 2018.

Top image: Patju Presley, Lawrence Pennington, Simon Hogan, Ian Rictor, Roy Underwood, Fred Grant, Byron Brooks, Lennard Walker, Pitjantjatjara people, Western Australia, Ilkurlka, 2015

Story for GCR? Get in touch via email: [email protected]

Latest articles in News