Construction Manager of the Year Awards 2021 shortlist revealed

The Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB) has revealed the shortlist for the Construction Manager of the Year Awards 2021.

A total of 77 of the best construction managers in the UK have been named in the shortlists for 10 categories.

The Construction Manager of the Year Awards, run by the CIOB every year since 1978, acknowledge and highlight the achievements of those who deliver projects and buildings to extraordinary standards and make a positive impact on the lives of the people who use them.

The category winners will be awarded their gold & silver medals at a glittering ceremony at the JW Marriott Grosvenor House hotel in London on 29 September 2021, hosted by George Clarke, architect and presenter of Channel 4’s "Remarkable Renovations".

From that elite group, there will be an overall Construction Manager of the Year, awarded the prestigious title and the 2021 trophy at the black-tie event.

The announcement of the finalists for each category follows a rigorous assessment process which sees CMYA judges assess paper applications and conduct panel interviews.

The 2021 finalists are: 

Accommodation over 4 storeys

  • Jordan Allingham, E H A Group
  • Henry Camillus, Durkan
  • Jon Clayden, ISG
  • Paul Consterdine, Tolent Construction
  • Ger Hayes, John Sisk
  • John Higgins, McAleer & Rushe
  • Ciaran McCallion, McAleer & Rushe
  • Steven Vaux, Morgan Sindall

Accommodation up to four storeys

  • Ian Green, Barratt and David Wilson Homes Mercia
  • Mick Hill, Willmott Dixon Construction
  • Jon Kelly, Storey Homes
  • Kirk Raine, Barratt and David Wilson Homes Mercia
  • Jack Wells, Willmott Dixon House


  • Marc Burton, Garenne Group
  • Stephen Harnett, Willmott Dixon Construction
  • Martin James, Willmott Dixon
  • Vince Kesterton, Tilbury Douglas
  • Peter Sharpe, Laing O’Rourke
  • Andy Shepherd, Kier Construction
  • Adam Watts, Vinci Construction

Higher education

  • Richie Carter, Beard Construction
  • Nick Claessen, Willmott Dixon
  • Rob Cooper, Laing O’Rourke
  • Ashley Dale, Sir Robert McAlpine
  • Liam Davies, ISG
  • Andrew Greaves, Henry Boot Construction
  • Darren Hancock, Willmott Dixon Construction
  • Steve Lambourne, Beard Construction
  • Jack Pitt, ISG
  • Nick Preedy, Willmott Dixon Construction
  • Nicholas Proverbs, Willmott Dixon Construction
  • Neil Sleigh, Henry Brothers Midlands


  • Tony Boorer, Skanska
  • Andrew Feighery, Multiplex Construction Europe
  • Emily Hoggins, BAM Construction
  • David John, Willmott Dixon
  • Tony Northcott, Kier Construction

Public and leisure

  • Shaun Burrows, Willmott Dixon Construction
  • Christian Clues, BAM Construction
  • Mark Gibson, ISG
  • Andy Howarth, Willmott Dixon Construction
  • Dafydd Morris, Willmott Dixon Construction
  • Paul Purser, Kier Construction
  • Robert Sankey, Greater Manchester Police

Refurbishment and restoration over £10 million

  • Anojkumar Canagasundaram, Galliard Homes
  • Stuart Cowan, Glencar Construction
  • Dale Harris, Morgan Sindall
  • Chris Linfoot, Willmott Dixon Interiors
  • Jeremy Mann, Kier Construction Western & Wales
  • Jocelyn Whittaker-Smith, Willmott Dixon Interiors
  • Mark Wolverson, Willmott Dixon Construction

Refurbishment and restoration under £10m

  • Brian Cole, Willmott Dixon
  • Laurence Courtney, WW Martin
  • Megan Forster, Coniston
  • Michael Garrett, Modus Group
  • Ronald Hening, Glencar Construction
  • Tristam Lithgow, Willmott Dixon Construction
  • Pete Marks, Greendale Construction
  • Sam O’Neill, Oakmont Construction
  • Stuart Peace, William Birch
  • Andy Stamford, Woodhead Group
  • Mick Ward, Pexhurst Services

Schools over £20m

  • Fergus Brown, Heron Bros
  • Roderick Graham, Kier Construction
  • James Gray, BAM Construct UK
  • Ben Harvey, Willmott Dixon Construction
  • Martin Horton, VINCI Construction UK
  • Lianne Lawson, Willmott Dixon House
  • Dale Parker, Willmott Dixon Construction
  • David Tomlin, Kier

Schools under £20m

  • Andy Barlow, Skanska
  • Finlay Black, Robertson
  • Nigel Hayes, Kier Construction
  • Andy Mitchell, Willmott Dixon Construction
  • Wayne Stokes, Stepnell
  • Mark Turner, Willmott Dixon Construction
  • James Wood, Morgan Sindall Construction & Infrastructure

Caroline Gumble, CIOB CEO, said: "Our CMYA competition seeks out the very best of leadership and talent in our sector so huge congratulations to everyone who’s made it to the finalists list. Those who have reached the final are all examples of excellence in construction and I applaud them for their hard work, commitment and achievements." 

Image: Stephen L Scrase/

Story for GCR? Get in touch via email: [email protected]

Latest articles in News