Winners of the 2016 Aga Khan Award announced

Six winners of the 2016 Aga Khan Award for Architecture have been announced in a ceremony in Abu Dhabi.

The award aims to support projects that "identify and encourage building concepts that successfully addressed the needs and aspirations of communities in which Muslims have a significant presence". Each of the six prize winners will be awarded $1m.

Khabarovsk, Bangladesh

The winners are:

  • Bait Ur Rouf Mosque, Dhaka A refuge for spirituality in urban Dhaka, selected for its beautiful use of natural light.
  • Khabarovsk, Bangladesh A rural community centre that makes a virtue of an area susceptible to flooding.
  • Hutong Children’s Library and Art Centre, Beijing A children’s library selected for its embodiment of contemporary life in the traditional courtyard residences of Beijing’s Hutongs.
  • Superkilen, Copenhagen A public space promoting integration across lines of ethnicity, religion and culture.
  • Tabiat Pedestrian Bridge, Tehran A multilevel bridge spanning a motorway has created a dynamic urban space.
  • Issam Fares Institute, Beirut A building for the American University of Beirut’s campus, radical in composition but respectful of its traditional context.

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture was established in 1977 and has issued 116 awards in total.

Bait Ur Rouf Mosque, Dhaka

This year’s winners were selected from a shortlist of 19 projects, whittled down from 348 nominations.

The competition takes place every three years.

Top image: The Issam Fares Institute, Beirut

Story for GCR? Get in touch via email: [email protected]

Latest articles in News