Tiffany’s “jewellery box” addition to flagship shop opens in New York

Images courtesy of OMA
Jewellery seller Tiffany & Co has announced the opening of the “Landmark” addition to its flagship 727 Fifth Avenue shop.

The 1940 limestone building is often seen as an example of the art moderne architectural style. Now it has an 2,150 sq m extension in the form of a jewellery box, containing floors for exhibition and events.

The lower floor of the box has a wraparound glass façade and a terrace offering views of Central Park. The upper floors also have a glass skin that creates a mirror effect. The aim is to suggest a “soft curtain” that contrasts with the more “severe” glass skyscrapers in modern cities.

The box was designed by the Office for Metropolitan Architecture (OMA) and replaces office space added in 1980.

The shop’s retail space has been reorganised to improve circulation and encourage customers to visit the whole building and not just the ground floor.

Anthony Ledru, Tiffany’s president, said: “The reopening of the iconic Fifth Avenue Landmark is a major milestone for our House. Symbolic of a new era for Tiffany & Co, the Landmark is much more than a jewellery store – it is a cultural hub with an exquisite showcase of architecture and superior hospitality, as well as cutting-edge art and design. It sets a new bar for luxury retail on a global scale.”

Story for GCR? Get in touch via email: [email protected]

Latest articles in News