Five shortlisted for 2017 EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe have announced the five finalists that will compete for the 2017 EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture, otherwise known as the Mies van der Rohe Award.

The Rivesaltes Memorial Museum by Rudy Ricciotti (Kevin Dolmaire)

The finalists are:

  • Lundgaard &Tranberg Architects for KannikegÃ¥rden. This is located in Ribe, Denmark’s best preserved medieval city, and consists of a brick-clad structure built around a 1,000-year-old ruin.
  • Alison Brooks Architects for Ely Court, a 44-dwelling residential development in the north London borough of Brent.
  • NL Architects and XVW Arhcitects for deFlat Kleiburg, a 500-apartment, 400m-long renovation project in Amsterdam.
  • Rudy Ricciotti for The Rivesaltes Memorial Museum, a tribute to the history of Camp Joffre, a military camp which held Nazi prisoners.
  • BBGK Architeki for The Katyn Museum, a project to commemorate the massacre of 22,000 Polish military officers and state officials by the Soviet NKVD in 1940.

The jury will visit the five works in April. 

The Katyn Museum by BBGK Architeki

Anna Ramos, director of the Fundació Mies van der Rohe, said: "Issues such as collective housing, the complexity of the European city – both contemporary and historical – and the ability of architecture to create symbolic spaces provide us with the opportunity to extend the debate on the finalist works beyond architectural circuits, because they respond to the concerns of today’s European society."

The prize winner and the emerging architect winner will be announced in Brussels in May.

Top image: Kannikegården by Lundgaard &Tranberg Architects (Anders Sune Berg)

Story for GCR? Get in touch via email: [email protected]

Latest articles in News