Future members nominated for LafargeHolcim board of directors

The board members of European cement giants Holcim and Lafarge have nominated their candidates for the future board of the combined company.  

There are 14 vacancies in the new board, and candidates will be elected at the Holcim extraordinary general meeting on 8 May.  

The seats will be split evenly between Holcim and Lafarge executives.  

The candidates are: 

  • Bruno Lafont, co-chairman (currently chairman and chief executive of Lafarge)
  • Wolfgang Reitzle for co-chairman (currently chairman of Holcim)
  • Bertrand Collomb (currently honorary chairman of Lafarge)
  • Philippe Dauman (director of Lafarge)
  • Paul Desmarais (director of Lafarge)
  • Oscar Fanjul (vice-chairman of Lafarge)
  • Alexander Gut (director of Holcim)
  • Gérard Lamarche (director of Lafarge)
  • Adrian Loader (director of Holcim)
  • Beat Hess, vice-chairman (currently deputy chairman of Holcim)
  • Nassef Sawiris (director of Lafarge)
  • Thomas Schmidheiny (director of Holcim)
  • Hanne Birgitte Breinbjerg Sørensen (director of Holcim)
  • Dieter Spälti (director of Holcim)  

Subject to the execution and completion of the merger project, Anne Wade and Jürg Oleas will resign from their office as members of the Holcim board once the merger is finalised.

Last week the boards of directors of Lafarge and Holcim agreed that Eric Olsen would become chief executive of the combined company. 

The combined company would have sales of about $33.8bn. The transaction is expected to close in July this year.   

Image: Holcim Cement Distribution, New Zealand (Holcim)

Story for GCR? Get in touch via email: [email protected]

Latest articles in News