Royal Mail celebrates “renaissance of UK architecture” with special stamps

The Royal Mail has announced a collection of first-class stamps adorned with 10 buildings that it says "represents the renaissance of contemporary architecture in the UK in recent years".

The 10 buildings are:

  • The London Aquatics Centre
  • The Library of Birmingham
  • The SEC Armadillo, Glasgow
  • The Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh
  • Giants’ Causeway Visitor Centre, Northern Ireland
  • The National Assembly for Wales, Cardiff
  • The Eden Project, St Austell
  • The Everyman Theatre, Liverpool
  • The Imperial War Museum of the North, Manchester
  • The Blavatnik Building, formerly Switch House, Tate Modern, London.

The Royal Mail says: "The past two decades has seen a surge in the construction of public buildings in the UK. A great many of these adventurous and innovative structures, serving culture, sport, government and business, have since become popular and integral parts of their local landscapes, often playing a part in regeneration.

"There has also been a renewal of confidence in British architecture led by world-famous architects including Dame Zaha Hadid, Lord Richard Rogers and Lord Norman Foster, along with a host of other talents."

Philip Parker, stamp strategy manager at Royal Mail, said: "These new stamps celebrate visionary buildings which combine stunning architecture with great engineering."

The stamps will be available from 7,000 post offices across the UK and also online.

Images courtesy of The Royal Mail

Story for GCR? Get in touch via email: [email protected]

Latest articles in News